The Different Stages of the Christmas Season

We’re in the pause between Christmas and New Year. A time many have off from work. In some ways, this is my favourite part of the Christmas season. The manic rush of Christmas has passed and there is time before the New Year to reflect. But maybe you prefer another part?

Let’s explore the different stages of the Christmas Season…

We decorate the house…

Ten of Pentacles: Taking part in valued traditions

Catch up with friends for a drink…

Three of Cups: Socialising

Buy presents…

Six of Pentacles: Giving and receiving

Rush around like mad at the end to get everything done…

Ten of Wands: Being overextended

By Christmas Eve, you hopefully begin to feel this…

Ace of Cups: Spiritually renewed

Beit through your faith, by listening to carols, or by spending time with loved ones.

On Christmas Day we spend time with family.

Hopefully, it felt like this…

Ten of Cups: Counting your blessings

Rather than this…

Three of Swords: Reigniting old heartaches

Maybe by the end of the day you experienced this…

Nine of Cups Reversed: Food coma or other over-indulgence

We now have a week between Christmas and New Year.

Which is a great time for this…

Four of Swords: Restful contemplation

Before the new year comes around.

When we do this…

Ace of Swords: Set a clear direction for the next twelve months

What is your favourite stage of the Christmas season?

The Tarot of the Northern Winter Solstice

The celebration of the winter solstice in the northern hemisphere has ancient roots…

The Moon: Hidden Depths

Going back thousands of years, possibly tens of thousands of years, maybe even hundreds of thousands of years, into prehistory.

And it’s not hard to see why!

December 21st marks this…

Wheel of Fortune: A turning point

It’s when the Earth pauses in its tilt away from the Sun, before heading back towards the light.

This is a truly significant moment in the year and would have had deep meaning for our ancestors.

The Earth turns towards the light just before the northern hemisphere is plunged into the bleakness of the most challenging winter months, when the weather is freezing and food scarce…

Five of Pentacles: Hard times

The winter solstice commemoration was created to remind us during the darkest of times that the world is turning back towards the light.

It is a celebration of this…

The Star: Hope

And is the true origins of the Christmas festival we now celebrate at this time of the year.

Jesus is another symbol of hope for us.

Of a way we can move forward towards the light.

Just as Tarot is too!

The Tarot Of Christmas Holidays

As some peeps begin to return to work after the long Christmas-New Year break I thought it might be a good time to explore the Tarot of these holidays.

10 Wands

Ten Of Wands: How we feel before the holidays begin. Over-burdened. Exhausted. Especially at Christmas time when present shopping and school concerts and card sending and work functions are added to the usual load.

Continue reading

The Wheel Of Fortune Reversed: Same Old Same Old

The Wheel Of Fortune R

Anyone else get a major whiff of deja` vu this time of year? The same old articles trotted out on avoiding over-indulgence on Christmas Day, the mayhem of Boxing Day sales and advice on how to get a toned bod (it’s summer here in Australia). Seriously. I think newspaper editors just recycle the same stuff every year.

Albert Einstein said that the definition of insanity is to do the same thing over and over again and expect different results. Yet every year we trot up to the same faces at Christmas dinner and expect to avoid the arguments we had last time round. We make the same New Year’s resolutions to lose weight, exercise more or give up smoking and expect them to work. Doh!

For me The Wheel Of Fortune Reversed is the card that represents being stuck in a rut. Repeating old patterns. Some peeps are happy to stick with the same old same old. Me, not so much.

How do you keep this time of year fresh and meaningful?

The Twelve Days Of Christmas? Sure It’s Not Thirteen?

Christmas TreeAnd so, I’m back. Last night was the twelfth night of Christmas otherwise known as Epiphany Eve. A night that is celebrated all over Christendom. It marks the end of the Christmas season. The rest and the revelries. It’s when you’re sposed to take your Christmas tree down although mine never lasts that long.

No one pays much attention to the Epiphany in my part of the western world but in Europe it has long been celebrated as an important occasion. The bookend to Christmas day. Officially it’s meant to acknowledge the three wise men’s visit to the baby Jesus but there are many strange traditions associated with the Epiphany which make you question its origins.

Continue reading

The Eight of Wands: Christmas for Grown Ups!

8 Wands

I love getting the Eight of Wands but it doesn’t happen often. This card means things are going to happen for you quickly. Look at the imagery. Eight wands are flying down to earth. Buds blossom from the wood. The land is green and fertile primed for new growth.

Once you get into your 30s and 40s life becomes pretty dull and routine. Not that this is a bad thing, I love my dull routine. But it’s good to have something change every once in a while. Keeps you on your toes. And with the Eight of Wands it’s change that you have actually been working towards. The sky suddenly opens up in an area of your life where things have felt stalled. It’s like receiving a gift. Like Christmas for grown ups.

I’m working towards publishing novels. That is the Eight of Wands change I am seeking in my life. What about you? What would you like to grow?