Throwback Thursday: Tarot’s Holy Book Part 2

I’ve written before about how Tarot contains a holy book that charts the journey of a human soul through all the stages and experiences of life. I call these cards Life Lessons Tarot. But they’re better known as the Major Arcana.

These lessons are divided into three parts. We’ve already looked at the first part: Childhood.┬áThe second part covers adulthood. As follows… Continue reading

The Tarot Of Frankenstorm (Or Any Natural Disaster For That Matter)

The Tarot cards that refer to a disaster of the scale of Frankenstorm come near the end of Life Lessons Tarot (otherwise known as the Major Arcana.) They are the heavy-hitters of the Tarot pack. The sequence of events might be summed up as follows: Continue reading

Everyday & Lifelessons Tarot

ArcanaI’ve never liked the phrases ‘Minor Arcana’ and ‘Major Arcana’ which are used to refer to the two types of card you find in Tarot. These terms are meaningless to a modern audience. As a writer I believe strongly that it is important for words to conjure up the things of which they speak. So I’ve been raking my brain to come up with more contemporary titles.

The Minor Arcana consists of Continue reading

The Holy Book – Volume 1

The Major Arcana cards read like a book that follows the journey of a human soul through life.

The first volume covers childhood:

The Fool

The Fool – The soul waiting to be born

The MagicianThe Magician – The newborn who seems perfect in every way and has so much potential.

The High PriestessThe High Priestess – The baby living off instinct during the first months and years.

The EmpressThe Empress – The child at play

The EmperorThe Emperor – The child being disciplined

The HierophantThe Hierophant – The school child forming ideas about the world

The LoversThe Lovers – The teenager beginning to make choices about what they want and who they want to be with.

The ChariotThe Chariot – The young adult striving for success.

That’s one way of looking at it anyway. There are many more. That’s the beautiful confusing thing about Tarot. It’s like a diamond. Every time you turn it in your hand you see another side.

What about you? What’s your take on the first 8 cards of the Holy Book of Tarot?

The Big Secret

The Tarot card deck is divided into two parts called the Minor Arcana and the Major Arcana which literally means the Little Secret and the Big Secret. In other words: hidden knowledge. But why was it hidden?┬áThis is just one of many unanswered questions about Tarot. We don’t know where it came from or who invented it but if you study the cards what you discover is this: Tarot is one of the most profound and beautiful books you will ever read.

I hope you’ll let me share it with you.